2019年1月:市场观点

By Francis Puno | 市场观点

1月 22
MVP

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]

总结:

欧洲许多人终于意识到, “不协议英国退出” 将对欧盟造成非常严重的打击, 因此是一个不可取的结果。在希望并错误地假定英国将取消英国退出 (这一荒唐的想法只突出了英国与欧洲大陆之间的理解鸿沟) 之后, 直到现在–在确信英国可能会造成附带损害之后—-德国正在采取更加和解的态度。延长第五十条很可能会有足够的时间达成交易。我认为第二次公投是最不可能的结果, 大选的可能性更大。在整个池塘里, 除了总统宣布紧急状态后, 很难看到美国政府关闭的决议, 该决议将允许他重新分配国会为军事建设划拨的资金, 以便修建隔离墙。当然, 民主党会起诉他, 但至少政府会重新开放, 双方都可以宣布胜利。美中贸易谈判正进入关键阶段, 达成协议的可能性似乎相当大。显然, 贸易战并不容易获胜, 特朗普准备折腾、宣布胜利并专注于连任。他不希望中国关税成为2020年运动的一部分。另一方面, 中国将松一口气。与此同时, 在欧洲, 德国正处于衰退边缘, 因为它受到对中国和其他地方出口疲软以及国内需求疲软的打击。欧元区的处境岌岌可危。德国应该开始赤字支出, 并将僵化的 “增长与稳定” 协议弯曲, 以使整个欧元区摆脱其缓慢的衰退。他们会吗?别期望太高。

交易, 不交易还是第二次公投?

上周, 德国执政的基督教民主联盟党 (cdu) 党 (cdu) 党 (cdu) 党 (cdu) 党 (cdu) 领导人、可能的下一任总理以及来自政治、艺术、工业和体育领域的二十多名德国名人向英国发出呼吁改变主意, 留在欧盟。 发表在《伦敦时报》上的这封信标志着柏林语气发生了重大转变. 它谈到了英国的作用–“我们意识到, 我们今天作为欧洲人享有的自由在许多方面都是由英国人民建立和捍卫的” 及其对欧洲未来的持续重要性–“如果没有你们伟大的国家, 这个大陆就不会是现在的样子” 今天: 一个由自由和繁荣定义的社区。 接着恳求–“我们将怀念英国作为欧盟的一部分, 特别是在这些困难时期。因此, 英国人应该知道: 从心底里, 我们希望他们留下 ”

我想说, 今天有点晚了。在2016年公投之前, 这些好人在哪里?那是欧盟尊敬的领导人向当时的英国首相卡梅伦提供一份他可以卖给英国人民的有价值的协议的时候了。相反, 他们给了他一袋清脆的布鲁塞尔热风, 卡梅伦试图将其呈现为 “大胜”, 并被否定。

 

MVP
资料来源
: www.survation.com

 

欧盟许多人正在意识到, “不协议英国退出 ” 将对欧盟造成非常严重的打击, 因此是一个不可取的结果。 在希望并错误地假定英国将取消英国退出 (这一荒唐的想法只突出了英国与欧洲大陆之间的理解鸿沟) 之后, 直到现在–在确信英国可能会造成附带损害之后—-德国正在采取更加和解的态度。

欧洲许多人终于意识到, “不协议英国退出” 将对欧盟造成非常严重的打击, 因此是一个不可取的结果。

任何对德国和欧盟感兴趣的人, 以及他们的去向, 都将很好地理解《柏林规则》一书中对这一话题的精彩分析:欧洲和德国的方式。它是由英国前驻德国大使、欧洲联盟委员会布鲁塞尔高级成员保罗·莱弗爵士撰写的, 他出席了1979-85年2月的欧洲理事会所有会议。他认为, 欧盟看起来和 “将继续看起来像德国”, 其 “对欧盟的领导主要是为了捍卫德国的国家利益”。 他的结论是, 德国将阻止建立 “全能的欧洲超级大国”, 而在20年后, 许多 (英国人) 会忘记英国曾经是欧盟成员国, 让他们后悔自己的选择 “和” 其他国家…… “。可能想知道什么大惊小怪。 我高度推荐这本书。

上周, 英国首相特雷莎·梅也遭遇了英国政治史上最大规模的议会失败, 下议院以432票对202票否决了她的欧洲协议。无论以何种标准衡量, 梅遭受的失败完全是她自己造成的。铁耳、遥远和沉默甚至没有开始定义她所采取的与顽固的欧盟达成 “退出协议” 的方法。梅无法用她迄今所采取的方法说服一个饥饿的男人吃饭。如果梅继续担任总理, 保守党必须担心在选举中遭受可怕的打击。谢天谢地, 她承诺不会带领保守党进入下一次选举。

那么, 接下来呢?

对于那些说 “不交易” 不在桌面上或英国退出可能被取消的人, 我这样说–没有交易不是 “摆在桌面上”, 而是在《规约书》中。2018年《欧洲联盟 (退出) 法》通过了议会两院, 并于2018年6月26日由皇家批准成为法律。650名议员中有498人投票启动了第五十条, 即明确和压倒性地承诺离开欧盟。随后, 超过80% 的议员于2017年在承诺实施英国退出的宣言中再次当选。因此, 从法律上讲, 在没有达成一致协议的情况下, 英国将于 3月 2 9日离开, “不达成协议”, 除非欧盟和英国相互协议延长第五十条的最后期限。然而, “不交易” 并不意味着 “崩溃”, 就像一些人喜欢害怕怪物一样。这只是意味着在双方达成新的贸易协议和安排之前, 商定一套附带协议, 并暂时恢复世贸组织的贸易规则。

正如我上周在彭博电视台所说–我仍然相信英国将带着协议离开欧盟。延长第五十条很可能会有足够的时间达成交易。将有一个过渡期, 英国将成为关税联盟的一部分, 在过渡期结束时, 欧盟和英国将转向自由贸易协定 (fta)。就英国而言, 工人的 “行动自由” 是一条红线, 不会进行谈判。

欧盟不希望出现不协议的情况。在这个问题上, 英国也没有。从短期来看, “不达成协议” 对英国来说将是非常不方便的, 因为新安排的细节已经制定出来, 但欧盟失去一个贸易赤字巨大的国家将是一个越来越大的悲剧。除了不交易, 最低限度, 意味着:

  • 立即停止向欧盟支付390亿英镑的 “离婚金”
  • 不再向欧盟预算提供130亿英镑的年度捐款
  • 欧盟对英国的全部出口–去年将面临 3, 410亿英镑的风险
  • 爱尔兰面临严重的宏观经济灾难

在德国 (欧盟27国的驱动因素) 经济困境不断加剧的情况下, 德国受到对中国和其他国家出口疲软以及国内需求疲软的打击。德国经济放缓已经在布鲁塞尔和欧洲央行 (ecb) 敲响警钟。

 

MVP
资料来源: www.voxEurop.eu

 

德国经济增长疲软对欧洲大陆其他国家来说是一个非常糟糕的消息, 许多经济体都与德国出口机器和德国消费者的需求有关。例如, 德国是法国和意大利的最大出口目的地, 法国出口总额的15% 和意大利出口总额的12.5% 流向德国。德国经济放缓将对法国和意大利造成严重打击。法国可能出现 “不协议” 或 “混乱的英国退出”、民粹主义和动荡、美国保护主义抬头以及中国经济放缓, 这些都是德国和欧元区的主要不利因素。中国是德国领先于美国的最大贸易伙伴。如果这还不够, 那就把心思放回去年7月和特鲁姆-容克会议上, 这次会议暂时分散了欧盟汽车出口对美国征收破坏性关税的风险, 以换取欧盟承诺努力实现 “零关税、零非关税壁垒和零关税”对非汽车工业产品的补贴。

快速前进的 6个月, 欧盟现在被美国官员指责在贸易谈判上拖延时间, 希望等待特朗普政府出局。如果你知道特朗普是什么样子, 结局就不会很好。唐纳德·特朗普总统即将与中国达成贸易协议。随着美加和中国交易的完成, 将尽一切努力和紧迫感, 接受特朗普喜欢称之为欧盟与美国的 “不公平贸易协议”, “抢劫” 美国, 并将其视为 “存钱罐”。预计很快就会燃放烟花。

我认为第二次公投是最不可能的结果。大选比第二次公投更有可能举行。我们知道, 这个国家在中间大致是分裂的–一半赞成脱欧, 一半赞成留欧。新的全民投票只会使那些投票离开的人感到沮丧, 并浪费宝贵的时间和资源。在我看来, 即使举行了第二次公投, 脱欧也有可能再次获胜。唐宁街 1 0号传播总监罗比·吉布在推特上提醒我们: “190万脱欧选民表示, 他们现在将投票支持留欧。但240万留欧选民现在将投票离开。这个国家并没有改变主意。 还要记住, 选民们被告知,英国退欧公投是 “一生一次的投票”, 3年不是一辈子的想象。对许多英国人来说–不管是留任还是英国退欧者, 第二次投票等于违反了民主。

至于英镑兑美元, 英国相对经济数据正在好转, 考虑到对美国经济放缓的担忧, 美国不可能在夏季之前加息。因此, 我看到 gbp/美元到6月份达到 1.32, 到9月攀升或更高, 明年爬到1.32 或更高。

经济 & 市场

民主党坚持–先重新开放政府, 然后再谈。特朗普坚持认为–首先为隔离墙提供资金, 然后重新开放政府。僵局仍在继续。

圣诞节前开始的美国政府关门行动仍在继续, 现在是美国历史上最长的政府关门事件–打破了克林顿总统和共和党国会从12月16日起就联邦开支问题持续了21天的冲突。1995年至1996年1月5日目前, 关停已进入第5周, 没有结束的迹象。特朗普坚决希望获得他所需的57亿美元资金, 以履行在美墨边境修建隔离墙的竞选承诺。对方的民主党在中期选举中取得的成功让他们感到鼓舞, 拒绝给特朗普这笔钱。民主党坚持–先重新开放政府, 后谈。特朗普坚持–首先为隔离墙提供资金, 然后重新开放政府。僵局仍在继续。

在上周末的电视讲话中, 特朗普做出了重要让步–呼吁为隔离墙提供57亿美元的资金, 以换取对作为儿童非法带到美国的年轻移民的三年保护, 使其免受驱逐。梦想家。美国参议员查克·舒默和众议院议长南希·佩洛西对此坚决予以拒绝, 佩洛西称这是 “不首发”。 舒默于2018年1月关闭政府 3天, 因为对梦之队的保护不在2018年的预算中。现在, 当对梦之队的保护被纳入特朗普的最新提议时, 他拒绝合作和开放政府。除了特朗普宣布紧急状态外, 很难看到还有一项决议能让他重新分配国会为军事建设划拨的资金, 以修建隔离墙。当然, 民主党会起诉他, 但至少政府会重新开放, 双方都可以宣布胜利。

与此同时, 美国政府可能会被关闭, 但市场却陷入了竞争。下表显示了2019年迄今的明星表现, 尽管考虑到12月的抛售, 反弹仍只是反弹或复苏反弹。

 

MVP

 

虽然在原油激增 + 24% 的基础上, 能源 (xle) 领先于所有行业 + 11.3, 但巴西 (ibov) 在上述矩阵中领先于所有国家, 其 ytd 收益为 + 11.3。记住, 能源是去年表现最差的板块, 跌幅为20.6%。

 

MVP

 

四季度收益报告期上周在美国开始。本赛季的开局再不像上一个赛季了, 当时投资者什么都在卖, 最终标普 5 0 0 指数在 1 2月从悬崖上坠落。截至目前, 仅有不到 1 0 0只股票报告, 因此还有很长的路要走。其中, 69% 的人超过了分析师的共识估计 (读数强劲), 但只有49% 的人超过了最高共识的收入预期 (读数疲弱)。过去四个季度, 收入节拍一直在下降, 并表明经济放缓–总体来说, 这并不是坏事, 因为这将使美联储 (fed) 近期无法加息。

回忆一下, 美联储上月将基准美联储基金利率 (ffr) 上调了 0.25%, 至 + 2.25 至2.25 之间, 并表示今年可能两次加息。在随后的新闻发布会上, 美联储主席杰罗姆?鲍威尔 (jerome powell) 抨击了市场认为是鹰派语气的态度, 风险资产迅速被淘汰。在假期里, 抛售情况不断恶化。此后, 鲍威尔和他在美联储的同事们在各种论坛上发表讲话, 以消除人们对美联储正走在预定道路上的担忧。”利率没有预先设定的路径,” 鲍威尔十天前在华盛顿特区经济俱乐部亮相时说。他补充说–“我们将考虑到金融状况的收紧, 我们已经看到了这一点, 我们也会降低利率路径, 并试图让货币政策在疲软发生之前就抵消疲软。 至少在6月份之前, 我还没有看到美国的加息。

美中贸易谈判正进入关键阶段, 近日, 特朗普对达成协议的前景发表了积极言论。”我认为我们将能够与中国达成协议”, 他上周在推特上说。美国和中国正寻求在3月1日的最后期限之前解决争端, 届时, 如果没有达成协议, 2, 000亿美元的中国商品关税计划从目前的10% 跃升至25%。《华尔街日报》上周报道称, 美国官员正在辩论对中国进口商品征收关税的问题, 以此来安抚市场, 并激励北京对中国进口商品征收关税, 这是一个非常积极、相当令人惊讶的转变。在一场令全球经济感到不安的贸易战中做出更深刻的让步。对于一个没有取消对其最亲密盟友的钢铁和铝关税, 并仍在向他们征收25% 的汽车进口税的政府来说, 这似乎是一个惊人的转变。美国财政部长史蒂文·姆努钦 (steven mnuchin) 曾谈到取消对 2, 000亿美元中国商品的关税, 并提出了取消自8月份以来生效的500亿美元中国商品的附加关税的可能性。不过, 姆努钦面临美国贸易代表罗伯特·利吉泽尔的抵制, 他担心任何让步都可能被视为软弱的表现。过去, 特朗普在关税问题上站在了利蒂泽尔一边, 而不是在姆努钦一边。但据知情人士透露, 这一次, 他已经明确表示希望达成交易–并正在向利泰公司施压, 要求其交付一笔交易。因此, 贸易战似乎不容易获胜, 特朗普准备折腾、宣布胜利并专注于连任。他不希望中国关税成为2020年运动的一部分。另一方面, 中国一旦开始出口高质量的产品–电信产品就是一个例子, 中国企业开始将廉价劳动力外包给其他国家–, 就会得到缓解, 当然也会与世界其他国家进行公平的贸易。这几乎就是几十年前日本的情况, 因为它从1960年和70年代的 “仿冒” 产品变成了80年代和90年代的创新新产品, 成为制造业的世界领导者。

与此同时, 如上所述, 在欧洲, 德国正处于衰退边缘, 因为它受到对中国和其他地方出口疲软以及国内需求疲软的打击。德国经济在2018年第三季度出现了自2015年以来的首次萎缩。德国是仅有的几个向中国出口取得巨大成功的西方经济体之一。不仅受到影响的是德国汽车制造商, 还有大约5200家德国公司在中国运营, 其中许多是中型工程公司, 提供中国用来为工厂供电和建设基础设施的资本货物。欧元区的处境岌岌可危。德国应该开始赤字支出, 并将僵化的 “增长与稳定” 协议弯曲, 以使整个欧元区摆脱其缓慢的衰退。他们会吗?别期望太高。

因此, 鉴于上述情况, 我对美国股市的配置仍在超重。我也对新兴市场 (eem us), 特别是中国科技股 (阿里巴巴、百度、腾讯、jd. com) 和中国风险敞口股票 (美光科技、苹果等) 感到非常积极。至于美国各行业, 我一直保持超重的美国金融 (xlf), 美国通信服务 (xlc) 和美国医疗保健 (xlv)

最后只是提醒你我在11月市场观点中写的东西。自1946年以来, 美国股市举行了18次中期选举, 每一次选举后12个月都上涨12个月。是的, 每一个。那是18点。自1946年以来, 股市在中期选举后的一年中平均上涨了17%。我们也进入了总统任期的第三年, 这也是历史上股市最强的一年。你会注意到, 在总统任期的第三年, 股票的表现比其他所有年份都要高。因此, 我建议你长期持有股票。

我喜欢的其他股票:就股票而言, 我喜欢:visa (v us)、blackrock (blk us)、jp morgan (jpm us)、美国银行 (bac us)、高盛 (gs us)、过敏原 (agn un)、celgene (celg uw)、苹果 (aapl un)、谷歌 (goog us)、微软 (msft us)、ibm 美国公司 (ibm us)、亚马逊 (amzn uw)、salesforce (crm us)、阿里巴巴 (baba us), micron technology (mu us)、jd. com (jd us)、家得宝、(hd un)、costco (成本美国)、雅诗兰黛 (el us)、glencore (glen ln)、rio tinto (rio ln)、honeywell (hon us)、schlumberger (slb us)、halliburton (halal us)、cvs healthcorp (cvs us)、bnp paribas (bnp)、巴克莱 (barclays) (barc ln)、百事可乐 (pep us)、动视暴雪 (atvi us)、星巴克 (sbux us)、迪士尼 (dis us)、康卡斯特 (cmcsa us)、societgenerale (gle fp)、kering (ker fp)、万事达卡 (ma us)、lam research (lrcx us)、vinci (dg fp)。

愿你安好

马尼什[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

January 2019: Market Viewpoints

By Manish Singh | Market Viewpoints

Jan 22
MVP
[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]

Summary:

The realisation is finally dawning on many in Europe that a No Deal Brexit would hit the EU very hard and is therefore an undesirable outcome. After hoping and wrongly presuming that the UK would cancel Brexit (a ludicrous thought that only highlights the gulf in understanding between the UK and the Continent), it is only now – after being convinced of the likelihood of collateral damage in its own country – that Germany is taking a more conciliatory approach. An extension of Article 50 is likely to give enough time to conclude a deal. I see a second referendum as the least likely outcome, with a general election as more likely. Across the pond, it is hard to see a resolution to the US Government shutdown other than President Donald Trump declaring an emergency that would let him reallocate funds that Congress has appropriated for military construction in order to build his wall. Of course, the Democrats will sue him, but at least the government would re-open and both sides could declare victory. US-China trade negotiations are entering a crucial stage and the likelihood of a Deal seems quite high. It is clear that trade wars are not easy to win and Trump is ready to fold, declare victory and focus on getting re-elected. He wouldn’t want China tariffs to be part of the  2020 campaign. China, on the other hand, would be relieved. Meanwhile in Europe, Germany is on the brink of a recession, as it is hit by weaker exports to China and elsewhere, as well as softer demand at home. The Eurozone is in a precarious position. Germany ought to embark on deficit spending and flex the rigid “growth and stability” pact to get the whole Eurozone out of its slow decline. Will they? Don’t hold your breath.

Get the Latest Investment News


Subscribe to our weekly newsletter to get the best deals straight to your inbox.

Deal, No Deal or Second referendum?

Last week, Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer the head of the ruling Christian Democratic Union (CDU) party in Germany and the likely next Chancellor, as well as over two dozen other German luminaries from the fields of politics, art, industry and sport issued a plea to the UK to change its mind and stay in the European Union (EU). The letter published in The Times of London marks a significant shift in Berlin’s tone. It talks about the role of Britain – “we realise that the freedom we enjoy as Europeans today has in many ways been built and defended by the British people” and its continued importance to Europe’s future – “Without your great nation, this continent would not be what it is today: a community defined by freedom and prosperity.” And goes on to implore –“We would miss Britain as part of the European Union, especially in these troubled times. Therefore, Britons should know: from the bottom of our hearts, we want them to stay.”

A bit too late in the day, I’d say. Where were these good people before the referendum in 2016? That was the time for the esteemed leaders of the EU to give then UK Prime Minister David Cameron a worthy deal that he could sell to the British people. Instead, they gave him a bag of crisp hot Brussels air which Cameron tried to present to the British voters as a “great win,” and was repudiated.

 

MVP
Source: www.survation.com

 

The realisation is dawning on many in the EU that a No Deal Brexit would hit the EU very hard and is therefore an undesirable outcome.  After hoping and wrongly presuming that the UK would cancel Brexit (a ludicrous thought that only highlights the gulf in understanding between the UK and the Continent), it is only now – after being convinced of the likelihood of collateral damage in its own country – that Germany is taking a more conciliatory approach.

The realisation is finally dawning on many in Europe that a No Deal Brexit would hit the EU very hard and is therefore an undesirable outcome.

Anyone with any interest in Germany and the EU and where they’re headed, would be well served to read the masterful analysis of the topic in the book Berlin Rules: Europe and the German Way. It is written by Sir Paul Lever, former British Ambassador to Germany and a senior member of the European Commission in Brussels who attended all European Council meetings from February 1979-85. In its institutional form, he suggests that the EU looks and “will continue to look like Germany” and that its “leadership of the EU is geared principally to the defence of German national interests.” His conclusion is that Germany will prevent the creation of the “all-powerful European super-state that ” and in 20 years’ time many (Brits) will have forgotten Britain was ever a member of the EU to make them regret their choice” and “others… may wonder what all the fuss was about.” I recommend the book highly.

Last week also saw UK Prime Minister Theresa May suffer the largest parliamentary defeat in British political history, as the House of Commons rejected her Deal on Europe by 432 to 202 votes. By any yardstick, the defeat that May suffered is entirely of her own making. Tin-eared, distant, and reticent don’t even begin to define the approach she took to agreeing a “Withdrawal Agreement” with an intransigent EU. May couldn’t persuade a starving man to eat with the approach she has taken thus far. Tories must fear a terrible drubbing at the elections, if May continues as PM. Thankfully, she has promised she won’t lead the Tories into the next election.

So, what’s next?

To those who say “No Deal” is off the table or Brexit could be cancelled, I say this – No deal is not “on the table” but it is in the Statute Books. The European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 was passed through both Houses of Parliament and became law by Royal Assent on 26 June 2018. 498 of 650 MPs voted to trigger Article 50 i.e. a clear and overwhelming commitment to leave the EU. Over 80% of MPs subsequently were re-elected in 2017 on manifestos pledging to implement Brexit. Legally, in the absence of an agreed deal, the UK, therefore, will leave with “No Deal” on March 29, unless the Article 50 deadline is extended by the mutual agreement of the EU and the UK. A No Deal, however, doesn’t mean “crashing out” as some like to fear monger. It just means agreeing a set of side deals and a temporary return to WTO rules for trading, until new trade deals and arrangements are worked out between both parties.

As I said on Bloomberg TV last week- I still believe that the UK will leave the EU with a deal. An extension of Article 50 is likely to give enough time to conclude a deal. There will be a transition period in which the UK will be part of the customs union and at the end of the transition period, the EU and the UK will move on to a Free Trade Agreement (FTA). As far as the UK is concerned the “freedom of movement” of workers is a red line and will not be up for negotiation.

The EU doesn’t want a No Deal scenario. Nor does the UK for that matter. A No Deal would be very inconvenient for the UK in the short term, as details of new arrangements are worked out, but it would be a growing tragedy for the EU to lose a nation it has a big trade deficit with. Besides a No Deal at, minimum, means:

  • Immediate halt to the £39 billion “divorce payment” to the EU
  • No further annual contributions of £13 billion to the EU budget
  • The EU’s entire exports to the UK – £341 billion last year would be put at risk
  • A severe macroeconomic calamity for Ireland

This, at a time when the economic woes of Germany (the driver of the EU 27) are growing as it is hit by weaker exports to China and elsewhere, as well as softer demand at home. A German slowdown is already ringing alarm bells in Brussels and at the European Central Bank (ECB).

 

MVP
Source: www.voxEurop.eu

 

Weaker German growth is very bad news for the rest of the European continent, where many economies are linked to the demands of the German export machine and German consumers. For instance, Germany is France and Italy’s top export destination with 15% of total French exports and 12.5% of total Italian exports going to Germany. A slowdown in Germany would hit France and Italy hard. The possibility of a No Deal or messy Brexit, populism and unrest in France, mounting US protectionism and the slowdown in China all are major headwinds for Germany and the Eurozone. China is Germany’s largest trading partner ahead of the US. If that’s not enough, cast your mind back to last July and the Trump-Juncker conference that temporarily diffused the risk of damaging tariffs on EU auto exports to the US, in return for the EU pledging to work to achieve “zero tariffs, zero non-tariff barriers, and zero subsidies on non-auto industrial goods.”

Fast forward 6 months, and the EU is now being accused by US officials of dragging its feet on trade talks in the hopes of waiting out the Trump administration. It won’t end well if you know what Trump is like. President Donald Trump is about to conclude a trade deal with China. With the Mexico-Canada and China deals completed, all efforts and urgency will go into taking on what Trump likes to call the EU’s “unfair trade deal” with the US that “robs” the US and treats it like a “piggy bank”. Expect fireworks soon.

I see a second referendum as the least likely outcome. A general election is more likely than a second referendum. We know that the country is divided roughly down the middle – half favouring Leave and half favouring Remain. A new referendum will only frustrate those who voted to leave and waste valuable time and resources. Even if there were a second referendum, in my opinion, Leave is likely to win again. In a tweet, Robbie Gibb, Director of Communication at 10 Downing Street reminded us as much – “1.9 million Leave voters say they would now vote to Remain. But 2.4 million Remain voters would now vote to Leave. The country hasn’t changed its mind.” Remember also that the voters were told the Brexit referendum was a “once in a lifetime vote” and 3 years is not a lifetime by any stretch of the imagination. For many in the UK – whether Remainer or Brexiteer, a second vote amounts to a violation of democracy.

As for GBP/USD, the UK economic data on a relative basis is getting better and the US is unlikely to raise rates until the summer given concern about the economic slowdown in the US. Therefore I see GBP/USD getting to 1.32 by June, creeping up to 1.36 or higher by September and 1.40 or higher next year.

Economy & Markets

Democrats insist – reopen the government first, talk later. Trump insists – fund the wall first, reopen the government thereafter. The deadlock continues.

The US Government shutdown that started before Christmas carries on and is now the longest government shutdown in US history – beating the 21-day clash between President Bill Clinton and the Republican Congress over federal spending that stretched from December 16, 1995, to January 5, 1996. The shutdown is now entering its fifth week and shows no signs of coming to an end. Trump is adamant on getting the $5.7 billion funding he needs to fulfil the campaign pledge to build a wall on the US-Mexico border. Democrats on the other side buoyed by their successes in the mid-term elections, are refusing to grant Trump that money. Democrats insist – reopen the government first, talk later. Trump insists – fund the wall first, reopen the government thereafter. The deadlock continues.

In a televised speech over the weekend, Trump made an important concession – calling for $5.7 billion in funding for the wall in exchange for a three-year protection from deportation for young immigrants illegally brought to the US as children, known as Dreamers. US Senator Chuck Schumer and House Speaker Nancy Pelosi rejected this outright with Pelosi calling it a “non-starter.” Schumer shut down the government in January 2018 for 3 days because protection for Dreamers was not in the budget for 2018. Now he’s refusing to co-operate and open the Government, when the protection for Dreamers is included in this latest offer from Trump. It’s hard to see a resolution other than Trump declaring an emergency that would let him reallocate funds that Congress has appropriated for military construction to build his wall. Of course, the Democrats would sue him, but at least the government would re-open and both sides could declare victory.

Meanwhile, the US government may be shut down, but the markets are off to the races. The table below indicates the stellar run so far in 2019, albeit given the sell-off in December, the rally is still only a comeback or a recovery rally.

 

MVP

 

While Energy (XLE) leads all sectors at +11.3% on the back of crude oil’s +24% surge, Brazil (IBOV) leads all countries in the matrix above with a YTD gain of +11.2%. Remember Energy was the worst performing sector last year down -20.6%.

 

MVP

 

The Q4 earnings reporting period got underway last week in the US. This season couldn’t have started more differently than the last, when investors were selling anything and everything, and it culminated in the S&P 500 index falling off a cliff in December. Less than 100 stocks have reported so far, so there’s still a long way to go. Of those, 69% have beaten consensus analyst estimates (a strong reading) but only 49% have beaten top-line consensus revenue estimates (a weak reading). The revenue beat has been falling for the last four quarters and points to a slowdown in the economy – which is not a bad thing overall, as it will keep the US Federal Reserve (Fed) from raising rates anytime soon.

Recall, the Fed last month raised its benchmark Fed Fund Rate (FFR) by +0.25% to a range between +2.25% and +2.50% and indicated it could raise rates twice this year. At the press conference that followed, Fed Chairman Jerome Powell struck, what the market thought, was a hawkish tone and risk assets promptly sold-off. The sell-off just kept getting worse into the holiday period. Since then, Powell and his colleagues at the Fed have spoken at various forums to allay the worries that the Fed is on a pre-set path. “There is no pre-set path for rates,” Powell said during an appearance at the Economic Club of Washington, D.C. ten days ago. He added – “We’ll take into account tightening financial conditions, which we’ve seen, and we’ll also lower our rate path and try to have monetary policy offset weakness before it even happens.” I do not see a US rate hike until June at least.

US-China trade negotiations are entering a crucial stage and, in recent days, Trump has made positive remarks on the prospects of striking a deal. “I think we’re going to be able to do a deal with China” he tweeted last week. The U.S. and China are seeking to resolve their dispute ahead of a March 1 deadline, when in case of no deal, the tariffs on $200 billion of Chinese goods are scheduled to jump to 25% from the current 10%. In a very positive, and rather surprising turn of events, The Wall Street Journal reported last week that US officials are debating ratcheting back tariffs on Chinese imports, as a way to calm markets and give Beijing an incentive to make deeper concessions in a trade battle that has rattled global economies. This seems a striking turnaround for an administration that hasn’t lifted steel and aluminium tariffs on its closest allies and is still threatening them with a 25% levy on car imports. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin has talked of eliminating the tariffs on $200 billion of Chinese goods and raised the possibility of lifting tariffs on an additional $50 billion of Chinese goods that have been in effect since August. However, Mnuchin faces resistance from US Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer, who is concerned that any concession could be seen as a sign of weakness. In the past, Trump has sided with Lighthizer on tariffs, rather than Mnuchin. But this time, he has made it clear he wants a deal—and is pressing Lighthizer to deliver one, according to people familiar with the discussions. So it seems trade wars are not easy to win and Trump is ready to fold, declare victory and focus on getting re-elected. He wouldn’t want China tariffs to be part of the 2020 campaign. China, on the other hand, would be relieved and of course trade fairly with the rest of the world as soon as it starts exporting of high-quality products – telecom products an example, and Chinese companies start outsourcing cheap labour to other countries. This is pretty much what happened with Japan decades ago, as it went from making “knock-off” products in the 1960 and 70s to innovative new products in the 80s and the 90s and became a world leader in manufacturing.

Meanwhile in Europe, as mentioned above, Germany is on the brink of a recession as it is hit by weaker exports to China and elsewhere, as well as softer demand at home. Germany’s economy shrank in the third quarter of 2018 for the first time since 2015. Germany is one of only a few Western economies to have had huge success exporting to China. It is not only German car manufacturers that are impacted, but some 5,200 German companies operate in China, many of them midsize engineering firms that deliver the capital goods that China has used to power its factories and build its infrastructure. The Eurozone is in a precarious position. Germany ought to embark on deficit spending and flex the rigid “growth and stability” pact to get the whole Eurozone out of its slow decline. Will they? Don’t hold your breath.

So in light of all of the above, my allocation still remains overweight to US equities. I also feel very positive about Emerging Markets (EEM US) and particularly the China tech stocks (Alibaba, Baidu, Tencent, JD.com) and stocks with China exposure (Micron Technology, Apple etc.). As for US sectors, I stay overweight US Financials (XLF), US Communication Services (XLC) and US Healthcare (XLV)

Finally just to remind you about what I wrote in the November Market Viewpoints. Since 1946, there have been 18 midterm elections and US stocks were higher 12 months after every single one. Yes, every single one. That’s 18 for 18. Since 1946, stocks have risen an average of +17% in the year after a midterm election. We’re also in the third year of a presidential term, which is historically the strongest year for stocks. You will note that the performance of stocks in the third year of a presidential term beats all other years by a long shot. Therefore, I recommend you stay long equities.

For specific stock recommendations, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Best wishes,

Manish[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]